Home made lightbox

Regular readers of this blog will notice that I’m a bit of a Lego fan and as a keen photographer I like to take photos of my Lego. Given it always appears to be dark and/or gloomy most of the time when I decide I want to take pictures of things indoors, I wasn’t very happy with the results. For example:

Lego macro test

I decided the solution was to build a lightbox. I thought that it should be fairly easy to build and not cost very much money. Although I could have set up something very simple, I didn’t want to have to position lamps and so on every time I wanted to take a picture. Partly because of the annoyance of having to find the lamps and multiple plug sockets, but also partly because I wanted to make sure I had consistency. I also wanted to be able to change the colour of the background.

So here’s my (rough) design:

lightboxThe main body is a cardboard box, I’ve used a box designed for storing files because its robust, but still lightweight. I’ve used LED fairy lights as the lighting solution – these are fairly cheap, should last well, don’t get hot, and don’t use oodles of electricity to run. The lights are pushed through holes and glued in on three sides – top, left and right.

Lolly sticks are used on the bottom to provide a slot for card to go into. I can easily change the background colour for my shots by sliding in a new colour of card.

multicoloured cardboard
12×12 coloured card stock

At the top of the box nylon wire is strung on each side to hold material over the fairy lights to diffuse the light. In this case I’ve used a plain white voile, but other material could be used to get a different intensity or colour of light. On the outside I’ve used a dark material to cover the whole lightbox.  Here is the lightbox in use:

lb2lb1

I’ve been quite pleased with the results so far. You may have seen some of the results that I have posted previously in the Lego for Girls post. Here are some of those shots and also some newer images.

Lego Friends

Lego Friends

Cowboy Panel

Vintage spaceman

Leave a Reply

