An assignment from WordPress

I’ve spent the day looking at various websites and applications for patterns whilst thinking about how to solve some interface and user experience related problems. For anyone who is particularly interested I’m looking at metadata capture and use as part of my university activities. I’ve been coming backwards and forwards to WordPress all day to have a look at various parts of the interface knowing that the blogs use tagging and categories to identify topics, and also as an interface that makes use of “invitations”. I’ve seen a few new things here today.

A couple that have struck me as being particularly interesting are around the invitation idea. When I clicked to create a new post, very briefly a screen popped up inviting me to choose what kind of item I wanted to post. Text, photo, video, a quote, or a link. Rather Facebook like. What intrigued me though was the link on the screen “Inspire me”. I had to click it to see what it would do! Here you go – an assignment from WordPress:

Italo Calvino said: The more enlightened our houses are, the more their walls ooze ghosts. Describe the ghosts that live in this house: Image credit: “love Don’t live here anymore…” – © 2009 Robb North – made available under Attribution 2.0 Generic

So that’s an interesting idea. Although I have to say that the house looks rather like something the Mythbusters knocked up just to blow up – does Buster have a ghost?! Anyway.. So what else have you got for me WordPress?

Here’s another assignment:

What was the one experience that completely changed your life? What happened? How did it change your life?

And another:

Write about your strongest memory of heart-pounding belly-twisting nervousness: what caused the adrenaline? Was it justified? How did you respond?

It’s an interesting idea. I particularly like the quote/photo combination. I like that it encourages you to do some creative writing as well as “All about me style”.

I’m coming the conclusion that invitation is what makes social media. Tell me what, where, when, and who. It’s missing some of the why and the how. Oh wait, that’s the bit I’m interesting in getting people to record.

Leave a Reply

